Intro AD

How to Delete a blog on Blogger

Well, you are going to delete a blog on Blogger for some reason. Whatever be the reason, keep in mind that nobody can use the url again if you delete your blog permanently, not even you. i.e, if your Blogger blog address is exampleblog.blogspot.com, this address is gone and no one can register it again. If you were using a custom domain like exampleblog.com, you don't have to worry about deleting a blog on Blogger since you can still have the custom domain, if renewed on time. So think again before deleting the Blogger blog.

How to delete a blog permanently


If you have made up your mind to delete the blog, follow the steps below.

How to Delete a Blog on Blogger

Step 1

Log in to your Blogger dashboard and select the blog you want to delete from the drop down menu at the left.

Delete Blogger blog

The above step will open the 'Posts' section of your blog. Select 'Settings' in the left menu and then click on 'Other' which appears below the 'Settings' button. Now you will see a 'Delete Blog' button. Click on that to proceed to delete the blogger blog.

Check this screenshot:

How to delete a blog on blogger


Step 2

In the pop-up window that appears when you click on the 'Delete Blog' button, you will see a 'Download this Blog' button. If you download that file, you can get all the posts and comments in a file which can be uploaded to any other Blogger blog. i.e, even if your blog is deleted, you can share the posts to some other blogs using this file, or you can start a new blog and upload all the posts you once wrote in to the new blog.

Now click on 'Delete Blog' button. This will put your blog into deletion state. Your blog will be deleted only after 90 days but nobody will be able to access it. You can restore the blog anytime you want in these 90 days and it will be impossible after that. If you want to delete your blogger blog permanently without waiting for 90 days, follow the next step.

Delete blogspot


Step 3

Now you have to click on the blog list (drop down menu) at the left again. You will see 'Deleted Blogs' section under which you can see the title of the blog you deleted in the previous step. Click on the blog title.

How to delete a blog on blogger

Now you will see two buttons at the middle. 'Permanently delete' button and 'Undelete' button.

Delete blogger blog permanently

If you want to delete the blog permanently now itself, click on 'Permanently delete' button. Remember, all your posts and comments and the template will be gone and can't be restored (if not backed up in step 2) if you proceed through this step. Also you will not get your blogspot subdomain address back again. i.e, if your blog address was 'exampleblog.blogspot.com', you will not be able to get that same address again. Blogger doesn't allow re-registration of deleted domains.

If you still want to delete the blog, click on 'Permanently Delete' button. You will be asked again if you want to delete it or not. Click on 'Permanently Delete' again to delete a blog on Blogger.

Delete blogspot permanently

So now your Blogger blog is deleted. I hope this tutorial was helpful for you to delete a blog on Blogger. Let me know if you have any questions in the comments section. Have a nice day!

Going to create a new blog? See How to create a blog on Blogger.
How to Delete a blog on Blogger How to Delete a blog on Blogger Reviewed by Edward on May 20, 2017 Rating: 5

No comments